iPad Air 2019 review: happy medium




Apple’s new iPad Air has almost all of the features people want from a iPad Pro — without paying Pro prices. Compared to the basic iPad, you get a better screen, a keyboard connector, and a much faster processor. But it still has a physical Touch ID home button for unlocking and a lightning port for charging. Dieter Bohn reviews the iPad Air and explains why it’s the best iPad for most people — because it’s the happy medium.

Read more here:

Subscribe:

Like The Verge on Facebook:
Follow on Twitter:
Follow on Instagram:
Listen to our podcasts:
Read More:
Community guidelines:
Wallpapers from The Verge:

Subscribe to Verge Science on YouTube, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science:


source

Post Author: Fredrick White

29 thoughts on “iPad Air 2019 review: happy medium

    The Verge

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    Do you think this iPad is for you — or would you prefer something else entirely?

    Dee Mark

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    I really care about the screen, I don’t know why just want a great screen.. which has a better screen? ..mini ? air?

    Aidid Rashed Efat

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    Apple are always the best.

    Vikas Reddy

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    Just bought a 10.5 iPad Pro rather than the new iPad Air. Just makes so much more sense. I’ll be switching from the basic iPad which was good but the screen just annoyed me quite a bit while using the pencil. The gap was, more than anything, audible. Really audible !! Older iPad Pro gives 4 speakers, more RAM, and similar processor power, better GPU power, and at a lower price. Why not, right !

    DynaMike TNT

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    ipad air: i can be used on a plane

    nintendo switch: i have to stop you right there

    Koustav Bangal

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    Here in India, 2017 iPad Pro is still costlier (100$) than iPad air 😂

    Kc Kc2018

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    iPad Air, is it Hot?

    Marcelino Sebastian

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    How much?

    Gabz87

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    Meh… I think its too much of a compromise.

    jeff corgan

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    anyone upgraded from ipad air 2 to this one? worth it?

    sam 57

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    Old design overpriced I will rather get samsung tab S5e $400 much better than this one alot

    lenny

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    txs veryyyyyy helpful

    Dark Kitz

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    After watching this iPad Air, maybe my air2 need a retirement 😂

    Diogo Marques

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    I love these conversational reviews, especially Dieter's. It feels incredibly casual and intimate without losing any informational value. Very well-written and put together and definitely a vibe I hope to incorporate into my own projects.

    DK K

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    Will next year or next generation iPad Air or Mini continue to use a lightening cable?

    TopHatCat1989

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    I'd go for the IPad Mini instead of the Air, and I'd only use it for light browsing and mobile gaming, along with reading ebooks. Iphones in my book are a premium product and are too expensive and restrictive for my taste.

    m .praveen

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    will smart keyboard support ipad Air 2019

    Zach

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    Although I want the latest pro but price wise and for what I use the iPad for everyday the mini 5 is all round the iPad for me. And for most things other than burning cds the iPad basically replaced my ancient computer

    黃盈達

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    So confusing

    Fighterspirit

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    Is there any difference in taking notes on ipad air and iPad pro 10.5

    Siddhartha Barman Mugdha

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    I truly hate apple but when it comes to tablet they are the best.

    Dr Kinetics

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    I wanted a new iPad Air cause I still use the air 2, but it’s really not much of an upgrade. I’m going to stick with the air 2

    Mukundmarvel4

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    The mini is the best
    Same Processor
    Great with Gaming(60 fps)
    Nice Graphics
    Headphone Jack
    Just the mini is Cheaper and Better than the air.

    swastik ray

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    What "mostly people want" is support for the 2nd gen apple pencil
    Not the first gen pencil.

    Scienxe The Pug

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    Can you test iPad Air for recharge iPhone like IPad Pro 11 or 12 ?

    Juraj Zamek

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    Ok

    Amitesh Singh

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    In India iPad air 64gb $645 and that's why apple sales are declining in our country fix this apple soon.

    Ka Kin Cheung

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    The only reason I got this iPad Air was because of jerryrigeverything video…
    Kept thinking the Pro might bend in my messenger bag…
    If it’s going to bend…. I rather have a cheaper one bending

    Cheah Alan

    (May 20, 2019 - 7:28 pm)

    I like the way you talk.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *